Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Current Awards
Share |

Fire Underwriters Survey & 

the CAFC National Awards 201 Recipients  



Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year

Fire Chief Cecil Kerr

Gillams Volunteer Fire Department

Full-Time Fire Chief of the Year

Stephen Gamble

Township of Langley Fire Department



St. John's, Newfoundland, September 28, 2016

The 2016 Fire Chief of the Year awards were announced during the Awards Gala at the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs’ annual conference, Fire-Rescue Canada, held in St. John's, Newfoundland.

"Both of our Fire Chiefs of the Year are mandated to protect the lives and property of their citizens.  To do so effectively, they must be committed to training, public education, appropriate equipment and a constant drive to find ever-better ways of doing things” CAFC’s President, Fire Chief Paul Boissonneault observed.  "More than anything else,” he added, "they have equally shown themselves to be true leaders.”

There are 3,500 fire departments in Canada and 108,000 firefighting personnel.   Volunteers comprise 91 per cent of all departments and 77 per cent of total personnel.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal